ARCHITECT magazine: “The Winners of This Year’s Matsumoto Prize Awards”

North Carolina Modernist Houses announced six residential designs in two categories selected by a jury and online voters that continue the Modernist architect’s legacy.

Photo by James West / JWest Productions LLC

Photo by James West / JWest Productions LLC

Six residences across North Carolina have been named as winners in this year’s Matsumoto Prize Awards. Held by the Durham, N.C.-based nonprofit North Carolina Modernist Houses, the annual program celebrates residential designs that hearken back to the work of modernist architect George Matsumoto, FAIA. The six projects are divvied up between two categories: the Jury Awards and People’s Choice Awards.

The jury, which comprised Ray Kappe, FAIA, founder of Kappe Architects, in San Rafael, Calif.; Alison Brooks, principal and creative director of Alison Brooks Architects, in London; Joshua Prince-Ramus, AIA, principal of REX, in Brooklyn, N.Y.; Harry Wolf, AIA, of Wolf Architecture, in West Hollywood, Calif.; Miami Beach, Fla.-based designer Charles McMurray; and English production designer Nathan Crowley chose three sites as the competition’s first-, second-, and third-prize winners…READ MORE

ARCHITECT magazine: “The Shortlist for This Year’s Matsumoto Prize Awards”

"Katamochi" by Mackey Mitchell Architects (Photo by Rob Travis)

“Katamochi” by Mackey Mitchell Architects (Photo by Rob Travis)

The annual program hosted by Durham, N.C.-based nonprofit organization, North Carolina Modernist Houses, selected 16 sites for its shortlist honoring modernist residential architect George Matsumoto.


North Carolina Modernist Houses (NCMH) has selected a shortlist of 16 submissions for this year’s Matsumoto Prize Awards. Recognizing modernist residences across the U.S. South, the Matsumoto Prize projects must be located within the region to be eligible. However, designers and architects can be located outside of it. This program is one of many conducted by NCMH, the Durham, N.C.-based nonprofit organization founded by 2016 AIA Collaborative Achievement Award winner George Smart (now NCMH’s executive director) that documents, preserves, and promotes modernist architecture across the country.

This year’s projects are all located in N.C., and range from deconstructivist mountain homes, to cantilevered, single-family residences in the suburbs, to spacious coastal dwellings. READ MORE…

ARCHITECT MAG: “AIA Announces the 2016 Collaborative Achievement Award”

NCMH founder and director George Smart

George Smart

The Institute recognized George Smart,  founder of nonprofit organization North Carolina Modernist Houses, based in Durham, N.C., for taking public knowledge of modern architecture from a local to national level.


The AIA announced the recipient of the 2016 Collaborative Achievement Award, which recognizes and encourages initiatives of allied professionals, clients, organizations, architect teams, knowledge communities, and others who have positively influenced or advanced the architectural field. This year’s winner is George Smart, architectural historian and founder of North Carolina Modernist Houses (NCMH), a Durham, N.C.–based nonprofit organization that documents, preserves, and promotes modernist architecture in the Old North State as well as many well-known residences across the country. In doing so, Smart’s leadership has created a bridge between the public and design professionals.

Since its inception in 2007, NCMH has built the largest, open digital archive for residential modernist architecture and architects, boasting more than 21,000 images, which has been used as a resource for civic leaders, historians, students, and preservationists. READ MORE…

ARCHITECT mag: “North Carolina’s 2015 Matsumoto Prize Awards Six Modern Houses”

The Durham, N.C.–based nonprofit organization, North Carolina Modernist Houses, recognized residences across the Old North State.

Jury Awards, First Prize: The Aiyyer House in Carrboro by CUBE design + research

Jury Awards, First Prize: The Aiyyer House in Carrboro by CUBE design + research. (Mark Herboth Photography)

By Chelsea Blahut

This year’s Matsumoto Prize Awards, an annual awards program distinguishing Modernist residences in North Carolina, were given out to six projects out of a total of 13 submissions—three Jury awards and three People’s Choice awards. Conducted by North Carolina Modernist Houses, a digital extension of a nonprofit organization dedicated to the promotion of Modern architecture, the submissions must be located in the South, but designers can be based outside of the region. READ MORE and see the Project Gallery.

  • Calendar

    • July 2020
      M T W T F S S
  • Search