2015 Matsumoto Prize Honors Six Exemplary Modernist Houses Across North Carolina

Jury Awards, First Prize: The Aiyyer House in Carrboro by CUBE design + research

Jury Awards, First Prize: The Aiyyer House by CUBE design + research

North Carolina Modernist Houses announced the six winners – three Jury awards and three People’s Choice awards — for the 2015 George Matsumoto Prize for Modernist residential design during a special event at McConnell Studios in downtown Raleigh.

Houses submitted to the annual competition must be in North Carolina but designers may be based anywhere. A panel of distinguished architects including Jeanne Gang and Peter Gluck chose the Jury Award winners. The 2015 Prize was underwritten by Leland Little Auctions.

NCMH Founder and Director George Smart announced this year’s results.

The 2015 Jury winners are:

First Prize ($3000) — CUBE design + research, Chapel Hill, for the Aiyyer Residence in Carrboro, NC.  Photo at left by Richard Leo Johnson

Second Prize ($2000) – Tonic Design + Tonic Construction, Raleigh, for “Crabill Modern” in Hillsborough, NC.  Photo courtesy Tonic Design

Third Prize ($1000) – in situ studio, Raleigh, for “Clark Court” in Raleigh. Photo by Richard Leo Johnson

Online public voting determined the three People’s Choice winners. With nearly 2000 votes cast, the 2015 People’ Choice winners are:

First Place: Kersting Architecture, Wilmington, NC, for “Waterline” beach house in Wrightsville Beach, NC. Photo by Rick Ricozzi

Second Place: Roost Homes, Asheville, for Peregrine #5 in Lakeview Park in Asheville, NC. Photo by Olivia Marone

Third Place: Ann Clark Architects, Chicago, for the Knight Howard House in Deep Run, NC. Photo by Stacey Van Berkel

The Matsumoto Prize honors George Matsumoto, FAIA, a founding faculty member at the North Carolina State University School of Design (now College of Design) who is well known for the exemplary mid-century Modernist houses he designed across the state. Matsumoto also served as Honorary Chair of the professional jury.

Sponsors of the award night included Palette and ParlorMitchell Restoration, and Paolo Tomasi Sales.

For more information on the Matsumoto Prize, the jury, and this year’s award winners, as well as all the submissions, visit http://www.ncmodernist.org/prize2015.