2014 Matsumoto Prize Now Accepting Submission

A unique architecture competition that celebrates NC Modernist residential design

Submissions are now being accepted in the 2014 George Matsumoto Prize for excellence in North Carolina Modernist residential, sponsored by the award-winning non-profit North Carolina Modernist Houses. The deadline for submissions is June 8.

Now in its third year, the Prize is named for George Matsumoto, FAIA, a founding member of the North Carolina State University School (now College) of Design, who is well-known for the many mid-century Modernist houses he designed in North Carolina.

The Matsumoto Prize is a unique design awards program. It is the only juried architecture competition in North Carolina that focuses on Modernist houses, provides financial awards ($6000 total), involves a national jury as well as online public voting, and connects to a major architectural archive.

The competition is open to anyone with primary design responsibility for a completely built, from-the-ground-up, single-family Modernist house of at least 800 heated square feet that was completed on or after January 1, 2008.  The designer does not have to be a licensed architect. The houses submitted must be in North Carolina but the designers can be from anywhere.

“The Matsumoto Prize promotes new talent and provides motivating honors and incentives for a new generation of architects,” said NCMH founder and director George Smart. “It also contributes to wider public recognition of Modernism in all its forms — architecture, art, furniture, and fashion — and recognizes the significant economic and aesthetic impact of Modernism across North Carolina.”

In addition to the jury, the public will also vote, with the top winners getting “People’s Choice” recognition. Public voting will begin at http://www.ncmodernist.org/prize2014.htm in mid-June.

Again this year, George Matsumoto will serve as the jury’s Honorary Chair. He will joined by: Harry Bates of Bates Masi, Sag Harbor, NY; Maryann Thompson of Maryann Thompson Architects, Watertown, MA; Philip Banta of Banta and Associates, Emeryville, CA: Harry Wolf of Wolf Architecture, Los Angeles, CA; Helena Arahuete of Lautner Associates | Helena Arahuete Architect, Playa Del Rey, CA; and Brion Jeannette of Brion Jeannette Architecture, Newport Beach, CA.

The Prize ceremony will be held Thursday, July 17, from 6-8 p.m., at the Contemporary Art Museum in downtown Raleigh, NC.  Ticket information will be available in June.

Competition rules, submission procedures, and guidelines are available at http://www.ncmodernist.org/prize2014.htm. To see last year’s submissions and winners: http://www.ncmodernist.org/prize2013.htm.


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s