Online Voting For The 2013 Matsumoto Prize Begins July 5th


Triangle Modernist Houses’ design award program welcomes public voting.



June 28, 2013 (Durham, NC) — Online public voting for the second annual George Matsumoto Prize, recognizing excellence in North Carolina Modernist residential design, will begin July 5 and end at 5 p.m. on July 20. 

The houses submitted for the Prize must be located in North Carolina but their designers may be from anywhere. Voting is also open to the public at large.

The Matsumoto Prize is sponsored by Triangle Modernist Houses (TMH), an award-winning, non-profit organization dedicated to documenting, preserving, and promoting Modernist residential design.

“We received votes last year from as far away as Argentina,” said TMH founder and director George Smart. “We welcome anyone, anywhere to vote for his or her favorite Modernist houses among those submitted for the Prize.”

The public vote serves as the “sixth juror” for a jury composed of noted national architects, which will select the winners. However, the three houses that receive the most public votes will receive special recognition as People’s Choice winners.

Smart also announced that this year’s public voting will include a random drawing of voters’ emails for special prizes. Voters will also have the opportunity to make small donations to the Matsumoto Prize endowment fund.

“And If you voted last year,” Smart added, “you’ll be happy to know that image access time will be much faster and work on more electronic devices.”

Votes are limited to one vote per email address. If more than one vote comes from an email address, only the first vote will count. Votes from emails that appear to be bots, suspicious, or from the same source are not counted. TMH’s decisions on vote eligibility are final. 

TMH created the Matsumoto Prize to honor George Matsumoto FAIA. Matsumoto was one of the founding faculty members of the NCSU School of Design and created some of North Carolina’s most celebrated mid-century Modernist houses. 

The Prize is unique among design awards programs because it focuses strictly on Modernist houses, it provides financial awards, it involves a national jury plus public voting, and it connects to TMH’s architectural archive, the largest single archive of Modernist houses and those who design them in the nation.

To vote after July 5, go to For more information on the Matsumoto Prize and Triangle Modernist Houses, visit


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s